Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
125th Anniversary Medal - Alumni Association
Fostering links between the University and its alumni is the prime function of our Alumni Association. Established nearly a century ago this Association relies heavily on the voluntary work of branches throughout New Zealand and overseas and especially on the vital co-ordinating role of the executive committee here at Lincoln. Over recent years the number of alumni has greatly increased, necessitating major restructuring of the Association and the way it operates. Pivotal to these reforms was the willing voluntary work of many individuals. The following group have made a major contribution and their service to the Association is gratefully acknowledged.

The recipients are, 

Elizabeth Cruickshank
Executive member from 1988 and President 1994195. The first woman to be President of the LUAA. A key member of the Southland Hall appeal team. A tireless Lincoln advocate and Southland branch organiser.

Robert Engelbrecht
Past President and Hon. Life Member of the Association having served on the Executive from 1967 to 1997. An active supporter of field trips and advocate for the University in Mid Canterbury.

Glen Johnson
President of the Association 2000/01 and responsible for implementing the new relationship between the University and its Alumni. Initiated a process for strengthening branches throughout New Zealand and Australia.

Derek Newman
President of the Association 1998/99 after being an executive member for 20 years, including 12 years as Treasurer. Alumni Trustee on the Foundation since 1996 and Treasurer of the LURFC for a number of years. Responsible for the North American exchange programme through thei98os.

Brian Robertson
Editor of the Lincoln College Old Students magazine from 1979 to 1990. When Lincoln obtained university status in 1990 he edited the magazine under its new title, Alumni News. He was Hon Secretary of the Association from 1988 till his retirement in 1998.

Gerard Scott
President of the Association 1996/97 and responsible for forging the closer relationship with the University in 1998 that lead to a complete structural reorganisation. Has always been very active in Alumni affairs in South Canterbury. Was a member of the first group of students to go on exchange to Oregon State University.