Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Lincoln University Medal

The Lincoln University Medal acknowledges those who, in the opinion of the Council, have provided long-term meritorious voluntary service and support to the fabric or reputation of Lincoln University.

2015 Medalists
Ian Collins
Noel Hickland
Heather Watson

Lincoln University Chancellor, Tom Lambie, says all three 2015 recipients (awarded in 2016) had made, and continue to make, a big difference to the University in their roles.

Medal recipient, the University’s Heritage Writer, Ian Collins, started as a journalist at Lincoln in 1987. His role in communications and media work has had a number of iterations, but always with a focus on writing. In 2011 he was given the honorary title Writer in Residence, and he has contributed to events, displays, presentations, functions, VIP visits and gatherings of all sorts on campus. He has told the stories of Lincoln University and its people, and has contributed research, sections and chapters on Lincoln University to over 15 books.

The second member of the trio, volunteer rugby coach Noel Hickland, is known as the “godfather of Lincoln University rugby”, and is a mentor, both on and off the field. He has spent the past 12 years coaching many promising young “All Blacks-in-training” through the Lincoln University Rugby Club. Under his guidance, the club won the Premier Colts Competition in 2011 and 2014.

The third medal recipient, Lincoln University Catering Manager Heather Watson, has given 29 years of service to Lincoln. She is committed to caring for her community and the environment and is the driving force behind many University and Lincoln University Students’ Association events.

A list of our previous medalists can be found on our Former Lincoln University Medal Recipients page.

Award Nomination Criteria

The Nominee will be assessed on the following criteria:

    To make a nomination, please complete the nomination form below or alternatively, you can download a copy of the form and send the completed form to Adrian Carpinter (Director, Governance):

      Medal Nomination Form